RSS

curses, foiled again!

05 May

I tried to get out yesterday to plant flower seeds. No go. By the time I got out there it started raining. I got out today before it started raining for a couple hours with the kits but they are more trouble than help and I spent more time chasing them back into the yard than actually getting anything accomplished. <sigh> We really need a fence. So the yard is half tore up and no seeds are in the ground. Let me show you what I have in mind.

 

 

 

Blue flax and lupine from American Meadows.


 

 

 

 

Only on a smaller scale. It will just be the back slope behind the raspberry bushes down to the alley.

 

 

Crazy how much the yard has changed since this photo.

 

 

 

 

Can you visualize it? I really need to find a more aesthetically pleasing solution for those bins. Any ideas? Then I have swamp milkweed, marigolds, zinnias, bunny tails, poppies and daisies I have to throw in somewhere. And it’s only the beginning (more on the big plan another time). Now if the boys and the rain will give me a break I may actually get it done. Speaking of rain, yesterday when it was raining I looked out the back window to see this.

 

 

 

Bunny trying to stay dry.

 

 

 

Kit #1 wants me to build them a house so they can stay dry. He’s so sweet. He gets awful mad when they eat his dandelions though. It’s a perfect day for indoor DIY so I may just do it. Do you think they’d use it?

 

 
2 Comments

Posted by on May 5, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “curses, foiled again!

  1. Nancy

    May 5, 2012 at 3:45 pm

    the lupines and flax are spring blooming so mix later blooming flowers with them so it is more of a constant color palette through-out the summer

     
  2. redfoxvixen

    May 5, 2012 at 4:26 pm

    Maybe I’ll just dump all my other seeds over there then. Lupines, blue flax, daisies, poppies, zinnias, milkweed, bee balm, and stargazer lilies? I’d love to throw some butterfly weed and echinacea in there too but I’ve been cut off for this year as far as seeds are concerned. So unless I get some as a mother’s day gift it will have to wait until next year.

     

Leave a Reply

 
